Image for Profile image

Dulcie Evans

Writer, dancer

Based in London, I create compelling stories that captivate readers and transport them to different worlds.

Get to Know Me: Q & A

1. Where did you train to be a dancer?
Jane Moore Academy of Ballet, Australia.

2. What styles of dance did you do?

I spent the most amount of time doing Classical Ballet. Alongside Ballet was Jazz, Lyrical, Contemporary and the occasional Hip Hop class.

3. What classes do you do now?

I maintain my fitness by dancing a RAD Intermediate ballet class and an Advanced 1 ballet class once a week. I also used to do an open ballet class, which I adored. Doing something new and different every week ignited my passion for ballet. And enabled me to play around with complicated steps and variations.

4. What are your qualifications?

I shook (the one and only) Darcey Bussel’s hand and received my Certificate in Ballet Teaching Studies in September 2022. Not that I can remember most of the experience as I was struck dumb by being in the same room as Darcey Bussel and Steven McRae!

5. When did you first start dancing?

In 2003 when Jane Moore Academy was still a tiny school working from an old church hall. I still remember that first class, watching all the little girls pointing their tiny pink clad feet in a circle on the floor. It was a terrifying moment, and one of the largest turning points in my life. Baby me had no idea what she was getting into when she joined that circle.

6. Tell us something the people might not know about you.

While lots of people know I am happiest with my nose buried in a book or in a studio. A lot of people don’t know I adore writing novels and short stories. My mind is always in the clouds miles away from the boring world of cleaning toilets and figuring out what to make for dinner.

If you’d like to know more follow this link to some of my favourite works. {}

7. What is your favourite dance movie?

Has to be the classic Billy Elliot. But I can’t deny that although it might not be a ‘dance’ movie Moulin Rouge will always have a special place in my heart.

8. What is your favourite ballet?

I’ll never forget the first time I was enchanted by Firebird and Coppelia as a little girl. But my favourite must be A Winter’s tale by the Royal Academy with Sarah Lamb and Steven McRae.

9. Who is your favourite dancer?

Just one! Marianela Nunez has to take that top spot, but Sarah Lamb, Darcey Bussel and Steven McRae are right on her heels.


10. What is one thing you wish you could change about the dance industry?

Sadly, the dance industry has always had issues with competitiveness, a problem I have seen up close. Now, a small amount of competitiveness is perfectly healthy, as websites such as Good Therapy say “Competitiveness can motivate a person to work harder than they would have alone”. It pushes us to work harder and achieve our goals and dreams with others of a similar mind set beside us.

But, there is a moment when an invisible line is crossed and we start to tread on others in order to get to the top. Honest encouragement switches to snarky comments. Helpful tips and advice change to harsh criticism, the list goes on. I can only hope that dancers surround themselves with the right kind of support and continue to do what they love.

Image for Women and their Hobbies

Unfair in a world already built against us

Image for Ballet Myths vs Honest Truth

Ballet myths, assumptions and throw away comments turned on their heads